University Schools

Middle School Sports

We believe that the opportunity to participate in sports is an important part of the total educational experience. Students have the chance to develop a positive self-concept and enjoy a sense of belonging to a team. Winning and losing is part of every person’s life. Participation in sports teaches young people how to win and lose graciously and how to practice good sportsmanship.

Middle School Sports photo gallery

Sports Programs

We offer the following seasonal sports for students in 7th and 8th grades:

  • Fall: Boys basketball, cross country (6th grade also), football, volleyball 
  • Winter: Boys basketball (practice begins on Tuesday, October 18), girls basketball, wrestling (6th grade also)
  • Spring: Brainbowl, track and field

Participation Fees

We assess a $60 per sport/activity fee with a family maximum of $480 for the school year. Please pay sport/activity fees when the sport occurs (fall sports in the fall, spring sports in the spring), prior to the first event. The fee is non-refundable after the first competition. 

If a student participates in more than one sport/activity in the same season, the student’s family is responsible for paying the participation fee for each.

Concessions

We offer concessions at many of our middle school home sporting events. We encourage parents of our athletes to volunteer at least once during the season. Please sign up to volunteer in concessions. We are happy to provide necessary training.

If you are a middle or high school student who is interested in volunteering in concessions, please contact Garner Agone, Middle School Athletics Director, at gagone@universityschools.com. You can earn community service by volunteering.

We use the profits from concessions to help purchase equipment and jerseys for the athletes. We are so appreciative to all our parents for their support of our Bulldogs!

Middle School Coaches

Dan Betz
Head Coach Cross Country - 6,7,8
dbetz@universityschools.com

Geoff Chacon
Head Coach Boys Basketball 7A
gchacon@universityschools.com

John Woodward
Assistant Coach Boys Basketball 7B
jwoodward@universityschools.com

John Suhr
Head Football Coach/Boys Basketball 8A
sirbo2na@aol.com

Lanny Ley
Assistant Coach Football 8th Grade

Keith Decker
Assistant Coach Girls Basketball 8B
kdecker@universityschools.com

Kyle Mills
Assistant Coach Football 7th Grade/Assistant Coach Boys Basketball 8B

JoEll Matthews
Head Coach Volleyball 8A
jmatthews@universityschools.com

Casey Miller
Assistant Coach Volleyball 8B
cmiller@universityschools.com

Kerry Breen
Head Coach Volleyball 7A/Girls Basketball 8A
kebreen@universityschools.com

Boettcher Nicole
Assistant Coach Volleyball 7B
nlowery-boettcher@universityschools.com

Jared Butler
Head Coach - Girls Basketball 7A/Assistant Track Coach
jbutler@universityschools.com

Mark Chambers
Wrestling Coach
mchambers@universityschools.com

Ashley Doss
Head Coach Track/Assistant Coach Cross Country
adoss@universityschools.com

Brooke Dannar
Assistant Coach Track
bdannar@universityschools.com

Joey Gallegos
Assistant Coach Track/Girls Basketball 7B
jgallegos@universityschools.com

Casey Doss
Assistant Coach Track
cdoss@universityschools.com

Kristy Bauer
Head Brain Bowl Coach
kbauer@universityschools.com

Maggie Miles
Assistant Brain Bowl Coach
mmiles@universityschools.com