University Schools

Middle School Sports

Important Update

With guidelines from CHSAA, we are working on middle school activities' schedules for the 2020–21 school year. The schedule below lists tentative dates for when athletics seasons would take place this school year. We will post specific event schedules at a later date and are subject to change.

Our start date for boys and girls cross country will be Monday, August 17. Practices will take place from 3:30 until 5:00 p.m. Participants must have a current physical and be registered through Family ID. If you have any questions, please contact University Middle School Athletic Director, Garner Agone, at (970) 576-3904 or gagone@universityschools.com.

Activity Season Dates

  • Cross Country - August 17, 2020, through September 11, 2020
  • Girls Basketball - January 11, 2021, through February 5, 2021
  • Wrestling - January 11, 2021, through February 5, 2021
  • Boys Basketball - February 8, 2021, through March 5, 2021
  • Volleyball - March 8, 2021,  through April 9, 2021
  • Football - March 8, 2021, through April 9, 2021
  • Girls Soccer* - March 8, 2021, through April 9, 2021
  • Track & Field - April 12, 2021, through May 7, 2021
  • Brain Bowl - April 12, 2021, through May 7, 2021
  • Boys Soccer* - April 12, 2021, through May 7, 2021

*Not offered at University Middle School.

We believe that the opportunity to participate in sports is an important part of the total educational experience. Students have the chance to develop a positive self-concept and enjoy a sense of belonging to a team. Winning and losing is part of every person’s life. Participation in sports teaches young people how to win and lose graciously and how to practice good sportsmanship.

Middle School Sports photo gallery

Sports Programs

We offer the following seasonal sports for students in 7th and 8th grades:

  • Fall: Cross country (6th grade also), football, volleyball 
  • Winter: Boys basketball, girls basketball, wrestling (6th grade also)
  • Spring: Brainbowl, track and field

Participation Fees

We assess a $60 per sport/activity fee with a family maximum of $480 for the school year. Please pay sport/activity fees when the sport occurs (fall sports in the fall, spring sports in the spring), prior to the first event. The fee is non-refundable after the first competition. 

If a student participates in more than one sport/activity in the same season, the student’s family is responsible for paying the participation fee for each.

Concessions

We offer concessions at many of our middle school home sporting events. We encourage parents of our athletes to volunteer at least once during the season. Please sign up to volunteer in concessions. We are happy to provide necessary training.

If you are a middle or high school student who is interested in volunteering in concessions, please contact Garner Agone, Middle School Athletics Director, at gagone@universityschools.com. You can earn community service by volunteering.

We use the profits from concessions to help purchase equipment and jerseys for the athletes. We are so appreciative to all our parents for their support of our Bulldogs!

Middle School Coaches

Dan Betz
Head Coach Cross Country - 6,7,8
dbetz@universityschools.com

Nelson Trujillo
Head Coach Girls Basketball 8th Grade
nelsontrujillo@ymail.com

Carrie Mutuberria
Assistant Coach Girls Basketball 8th Grade
cmutuberria@universityschools.com

Kyle Mills
Head Coach Football 7th Grade/
Head Coach Boys Basketball 8th Grade
Assistant Coach Track

Zach Wyn
Assistant Coach Football 7th Grade

John Suhr
Head Coach Football 8th Grade/
Head Coach Boys Basketball 7th Grade
sirbo2na@aol.com

Lanny Ley
Assistant Coach Football 8th Grade

Robert Schuler
Assistant Coach Football
rschuler@universityschools.com

Kerry Breen
Head Coach Volleyball 7th Grade/
Head Coach Girls Basketball 7th Grade/Assistant Coach Boys Basketball 8th Grade
kebreen@universityschools.com

Tara Villarreal
Assistant Coach Girls Basketball 7th Grade
tvillarreal@universityschools.com

Nicole Boettcher
Head Coach Volleyball 8th Grade
nlowery-boettcher@universityschools.com

Katrina Yeh
Assistant Coach Volleyball 8th Grade

Samantha Hausman
Assistant Coach Volleyball 7th Grade
shausman@universityschools.com

Mark Chambers
Head Wrestling Coach
mchambers@universityschools.com

David Folsom
Assistant Coach Wrestling
dfolsom@universityschools.com

Ashley Doss
Head Coach Track/Assistant Coach Cross Country
adoss@universityschools.com

Jared Butler
Assistant Track Coach
jbutler@universityschools.com

Casey Doss
Head Coach Track
cdoss@universityschools.com

Kristy Bauer
Head Brain Bowl Coach
kbauer@universityschools.com

Maggie Miles
Assistant Brain Bowl Coach
mmiles@universityschools.com